Oh, those Gorgeous Georgians!

For the Dress Like a Georgian Day Picnic I changed my mind three times. At first I was positive I would do something from the 1790s so that I could re-use it for a Regency event. Then I thought I would take a step back and work on a Chemise a la Reine but I decided to save that for my lecture at The British Museum.

After catching Marie Antoinette I decided to go for a completely new approach based on this dress:

IMG_8628

nat2

IMG_8625

The first stop was to find the fabric and start draping. I used the techniques I learnt from my internship last summer in Colonial Williamsburg at the Margaret Hunter Millinery Shop.

photo 2

The first tip I can offer anyone is to fully embrace the le point a rabattre sous la main. If you don’t know how to use that stitch Abby has the best tutorial on the internet: Click, click!

It looks a bit like this:

photo 4

photossss 5

I decided to go for a faux pleated back because I only had about a week to pull this entire costume together. I could have cut time down by using the machine but I strongly feel that 18th century costumes are better fitting when they are stitched by hand. It takes more time but the stitches are strong and there is a more authentic feel.

photo s4

photoss 5

I went back over my jacket I made in Williamsburg to see how to do the sleeves because I always find them a bit tricky.

Next step was to pleat the skirt and attach it. I basted the pleats:

IMG_8677

And then attached the outer pleats to the bodice and whipped the inside to the lining. Make sure to catch you loops to bustle the back in this step!

IMG_8755

Once the skirt and bodice were together (notice I removed the sleeves! They always give me a bit of a hard time at first. I decided to pull them out, baste the arm hole and move on. When I’m on a tight schedule I try not to waste time when I know I can finish something else).

On to the ruffles! I was so lucky that I went back and bought three extra metres of fabric because the pleats took 450″ of fabric (Trust me I had to triple check that measurement). I handpinked the edges and nearly destroyed my wrist doing so. The only thing I’m not happy with is that when I took my petticoat off I noticed that the edges frayed something awful.

IMG_8731

IMG_8774

The petticoat is 2.5 metres of fabric, skip stitched (can’t remember the proper name for this stitch!) the SS’s and pleated the front and back onto two cotton ties.

IMG_8810I always leave the decoration for the end because that is my favorite part. I had a few choices,

IMG_8746

IMG_8744

I based the back on the MA dress:

nat28

IMG_8750

Finally got the sleeves in and stole the cuffs from my Paysanne costume (which I still need to post about!):

IMG_8790

IMG_8822

The night before I drew up a list of what I had to finish and unfortunately even though I had planned to decorate a pair of shoes they just weren’t a priority anymore, I decided the hat was more important. So here is a photo of what could have been:

IMG_8776

IMG_8815

I whipped the necklace up the morning of the event:

IMG_8856

For the back of the dress I was inspired by one of the costume worn in The Duchess:

tumblr_leoiomMcqr1qbqhxuo1_400

Thank you to Aleksandra Ugelstad Elnæs for this photo!

Thank you to Aleksandra Ugelstad Elnæs for this photo!

Now for photos from the event!

IMG_8869

Thank you again to Aleksandra Ugelstad Elnæs

Thank you again to Aleksandra Ugelstad Elnæs

DSC06060

Thank you Jim Moore!

Thank you Jim Moore!

My dear friend Donald!

My dear friend Donald!

Thank you Jim Moore!

Thank you Jim Moore!

IMG_8926

Aleksandra Ugelstad Elnæs snapped some of the best shots of the day!

Aleksandra Ugelstad Elnæs snapped some of the best shots of the day!

970977_10153051027150156_470520106_n

IMG_8923

Screen shot 2013-07-07 at 3.02.01 PM

and finally because no Georgian get together is complete without the pineapple:

1013734_10151776020889257_1121373923_n

6 thoughts on “Oh, those Gorgeous Georgians!

  1. KarlaAkins says:

    Deep, heavy sigh of longing.

  2. Anna says:

    UNBELIEVABLE. This is gorgeous…like a fluffy piece of cake. Wow.

  3. Natalie says:

    This has got to be one of my favorite interpretations of late 18th century dress ever. The trim and accessories take the ensemble from “really neat” to “total wow”!

    Very best,

    Natalie

  4. Mary Drennen says:

    Hello,
    I found your blog when I searched The Margaret Hunter shop in Williamsburg. I visited there a couple summers ago and I loved it. We spent so long in the shop talking to the ladies there! Are you offering an apprenticeship program by any chance? If you are please let me know. My email is mdrennen9@gmail.com.

    Mary Drennen

  5. quentin says:

    ah, to be a french aristocrat living in opulent splendor, then guillotined for it

Leave a Reply

